Posted by: livingscripture | May 2, 2015

Fourth Saturday of Easter

From the Word of the DayJesus_103_small

 “Philip said to Jesus, ‘Master, show us the Father, and that will be enough for us.’  Jesus said to him, ‘Have I been with you for so long a time and you still do not know me, Philip?  Whoever has seen me has seen the Father.  How can you say, ‘Show us the Father?  Do you not believe that I am in the Father and the Father is in me?’”   (John 14: 8-10)

How should we live this Word

 Philip’s request really coincides with the more or less awareness of the thirst of every human heart.  Jesus had often spoken of the Father and had revealed His deep tenderness to the point of saying that He cares for even the smallest creatures like the birds of the air, the field flowers.  The real question regards the ability to see, to know the Father from whom all is born, that infinite Love that tends to all life.

Jesus says that He and the Father are One in each Other, even within the distinction of Persons, one entity of Love, One God.

These pages of John’s Gospel are the highest point of Revelation.  It is not by chance that Jesus, whose coming had been prepared for through the centuries by the Patriarchs and Prophets, is the answer that counts the most.  He will say, “The Father and I are One”.  Our heart is in peace because it can touch the mystery of God, His deepest Truth that is His Love so abundantly given.  It is so great that it transforms the opprobrium of the Cross into the most radiant point of the history of salvation.

 In my pause for silent contemplation, I will ponder the mystery of the Trinity, of Their indwelling in me, of Their limitless love for me!

Lord, I would want my thanks to be infinite!  But I cannot express it.  I am persuaded that You wish one thing from me:  the effort to love You and the Father concretely in my sisters, my brothers, everyone I meet both near and far.  It is foolishness for me to pretend that I love You whom I cannot see, if I cannot love my neighbor whom I can see.

The Voice of Saint Pope John Paul II

The good way has a name; it is called Love.  In it we can find the key for every hope because true love has its roots in God.

Leave a Reply

Categories

