Posted by: livingscripture | May 1, 2015

Fourth Friday of Easter

From the Word of the Day

 “I will come again and will take you with me, so that where I am you also will be.  And you know the way to where I am going.”   (John 14: 3-4)

How should we live this Word

 Jesus had already exhorted His Apostles to not let their hearts be disturbed.  He had reassured them, telling them that after having prepared a place for them of joy and salvation, He would return precisely because He wanted them to be with Him forever.  However, it seems that Jesus is contradicting Himself.  He says, “Where I am going, you know the way”.  And at the same time, He says He wilHighway_Home_blank-961x828[1]l come to take them so that they will be with Him.  What is the deep meaning of this?  We find it in the words that are the vertex and synthesis in which Jesus Himself reveals His identity, “I am the Way” and you “know the way”.  He is telling them that if they are truly seeking to know Him, they have the profound truth in the Gospel.  Therein is the way, the fundamental teachings that are necessary to become His disciples.

When He says, “I will come and take you with Me”, He means again that it does not deal with practicing a doctrine, or at least, not only with that.  The Gospel is life; it is Jesus Himself with us.  He will later add, “No one comes to the Father except through Me”.

 In my pause for silent contemplation, I will bask in this truth and look forward to Jesus coming to me, not only at the moment of death, but at every moment of my life.

Lord Jesus, the more You grasp my heart with Your Word, the more I am aware that it is Light on my path and a fire that warms my heart and enlivens my days!  Take me with You, who are the Way, the Truth, and the Life.  Take me with You to live in Your company to penetrate the Good News.  Nourish me and revive my days and the world in which I live because living the Gospel means saying I believe while loving.

The Voice of G. K. Chesterton, English Author and Convinced Christian

Like every human being, believers are immersed in the fatigues and sorrows of each day.  But they find in the faith a lens that permits them to see these ordinary things in a new light.  Faith does not change the journey; it modifies human vision.

Leave a Reply

Categories

