Posted by: livingscripture | April 28, 2015

Fourth Tuesday of Easter

From the Word of the DayGood Shepherd

 “My sheep hear my voice; I know them, and they follow me.  I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish.  No one can take them out of my hand.”   (John 10: 27-28)

How should we live this Word

 It is a winter day during the feast that recalls the solemn Dedication of the Temple of Jerusalem.  Jesus is walking inside in the part called the Portico of Solomon.  The Jews are ready there as well to ask Him trick questions or to show their impatience in His regard.  “If you are the Christ, tell us plainly”.

Jesus answers by focusing on the fact that the works He does in the name of the Father, precisely those works, bear witness to Him.  Thus, He takes up an image dear to Him, that of the shepherd and the sheep and highlights a truth that is deeply certain and familiar.  His sheep, that is, His true followers, are recognized by three verbs: they listen to Him, they know Him through listening to His Word, and therefore, they follow Him by living His Word.

What Jesus then adds is a marvelous consequence.  He the Lord opens never–ending life to those who follow Him, without any more risk of ever being lost.  The beauty of it is that there will not be any human or angelic or any other power that can overcome God, and be able to take these creatures from Him, from His infinitely loving heart.  The reason for this certain victory is the fact that the Father Himself has given this gift to His Son Jesus; the Father who is the very omnipotence of God, One in Three, the Father who is one thing alone with the Son.

 In my pause for silent contemplation, I will reflect on Jesus’ words and rejoice in the fact that no one can ever take me from Him.

Lord, help me to live with authenticity as I follow You.  Remove from me all fear.  I believe deeply that my Christian life coincides with the certainty that, if I live in You, and You in me, joy begins here and will be the fullness of happiness in Heaven.

The Voice of Edith Stein, German Carmelite, Philosopher, Author, Mystic

Those who seek truth seek God whether they know it or not.

Leave a Reply

Categories

