Posted by: livingscripture | April 22, 2015

Third Wednesday of Easter

From the Word of the Day

 “Jesus said to them, ‘I am the Bead of life, whoever comes to me will never hunger, and whoever believes in me will never thirst.  Everything that the Father gives me will come to me, and I will not reject anyone who comes to me, because I came down from heaven not to do my own will but the will of the one who sent me.  And this is the will of the one who sent me, that I should not lose anything of what he gave me, but that I should raise it on the last day’.”   (John 6: 35-39)                                                                                

 

How should we live this WordBread 2

 ‘I AM’ is the Name with which God revealed Himself to Moses.  Here the verb reveals who He is and what He does in that Name.  He is the bread that communicates His life to those who eat of it.  We are at the highest level of understanding the sign.  The bread, the life that we desire and receive is Jesus Himself.  The Son, who gives His life for us in obedience to the Father’s will, clearly tells us what this Will is:  that of communicating His Life to us, His Love, so that at the last day, all may have life in Him and not death.

 In my pause for silent contemplation, I will ponder Jesus’ words.  Do I really believe that I receive Jesus in the Eucharist?  Do I really believe Jesus?

Lord, strengthen my faith in You and in Your Word.

The Voice of St. Bonaventure

Jesus, Bread of the angels, food of the elect, our daily bread, more than any other nutriment and fragrant with sweetness… may my mind and heart be ever securely fixed and firmly rooted in You.

Leave a Reply

Categories

