Posted by: livingscripture | April 21, 2015

Third Tuesday of Easter

From the Word of the Day

 

“So they said to Jesus, ‘Sir, give us this bread always’.  Jesus said to them, ‘I am the bread of life; whoever comes to me will never hunger, and whoever believes in me will never thirst’.”   (John 6: 34-35)    

 

How should we live this WordJesus food 1

 

Just as the Samaritan woman asked for the water that gives eternal life, today the crowd asks for the bread.  “Sir, give us this bread always,” the bread that accomplishes God’s work and gives life to the world.  How similar this dialog in the synagogue of Capernaum is to the one before Jacob’s well!  It is hunger and thirst that masks the deep hunger of thirst for what our soul yearns.

 In my pause for silent contemplation, I will thank Jesus for giving me His Body as Bread to satisfy my hunger, the deepest hunger of my heart that longs for Him.  I will thank Him for the Holy Mass of His Eucharist that I am able to approach with ease.

Lord, give me always of the Bread of Your Body.  Without You I cannot live!

The Voice of Saturnine, Martyr of the Early Church

In the Acts of the Martyrs, we have an inspiring narration of the interrogation of Saturnine, Dativo, and others from the colony of Abitina in Africa during the Diocletian persecution in 304, which led to their martyrdom.

 “You have acted against the prescriptions of the Emperors and of the Caesars by gathering these”.  The priest Saturnine, inspired by the Holy Spirit, responded, “We have celebrated Sunday Eucharist without being preoccupied by them”.  The Proconsul demanded, “Why?”  He responded, “Because the Sunday Eucharist cannot be left aside”.  Then the Proconsul questioned Emeritus.  “Do you hold reunions in your house against the decree of the emperor?”  And Emeritus, inspired by the Holy Spirit, said, “We have celebrated the Sunday Eucharist in my home”.  And the other asked, “Why do you allow them to enter?”  He answered, “Because they are my brothers and I could not stop them”.  The Proconsul continued, “It was your duty to stop them”.  And he said, “I could not because we Christians cannot remain without the Sunday Eucharist”.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

