Posted by: livingscripture | April 20, 2015

Third Monday of Easter

From the Word of the Dayjcheart

 “Amen, amen, I say to you, you are looking for me not because you saws signs but because you ate the loaves and were filled.  Do not work for food that perishes but for the food that endures for eternal life, which the Son of Man will give you.  For on Him the Father, God, has set his seal.”   (John 6: 26-27)                         

How should we live this Word

 By their very nature human beings are mystics searching for the ‘mystery’ hidden in everything.  For the human, in fact, what is seen is a reality to be understood and interpreted.  Jesus tells the crowd that they are not looking for Him because they saw signs, but because they had eaten the bread and were satisfied.

Jesus makes us face our difficulty in being truly human.  This happens above all when we renounce going ‘beyond’ and we content ourselves with what we see.  Even Jesus can be sought only to guarantee us material bread for survival…what we see!  Jesus, instead, educates us and takes us out of our egoism to open us to receive His Love by helping us to raise our gaze!

 In my pause for silent contemplation, I will ask myself what I am truly seeking in my relationship with Jesus and ask Him to bring my gaze where He desires it to be.

Lord Jesus, educate me always so that I may not delude myself into thinking that I am seeking You when in truth I am only seeking myself.

The Voice of Edith Stein, Witness and Martyr

O Lord, give me all that leads me to You. O Lord, take from me all that takes me from You. O Lord, take me from myself and give me to You alone.

Leave a Reply

Categories

