Posted by: livingscripture | March 24, 2015

Fifth Tuesday in Lent

From the Word of the Day

 “So Jesus said to them, ‘When you lift up the Son of Man, then you will realize that I AM, and that I do nothing on my own, but I say only what the Father taught me’.”   

 (John 8: 28)   

 How should we live this WordCrucifix2[1]

There is in this affirmation of the Lord Jesus an awareness of His own identity that is able to cast out any doubts.  It is the identity of God Himself.  In fact, we know from one of the most powerful and intense pages of the Old Testament that when a mysterious voice speaks to Moses and he asks to know His name, he is told, ‘I AM’.

However little we can enter into the depths of this, we are aware that no one and nothing can be compared to this name, because these two short words express the very essence of God.  He is BEING in the most pregnant meaning of the term.  He is the BEING from which all flows as gift.  We who are reading this, our dear ones, all that inhabits the earth and the things that populate it – animals, vegetation, minerals – all the abundance that exists comes from BEING par excellence, from I AM.  And if Jesus does not hesitate to reveal Himself as I AM, we enter into the mystery of His being and His knowing He is God.

In my pause for silent contemplation, I will remain in awe before Jesus, my Lord and my God, adoring Him and thanking Him for my existence and all His gifts.

Lord Jesus, if Your name is I AM in the infinite mystery of Your being Son: God like the Father and the Holy Spirit, what touches me most deeply is that You speak of it at the crucial moment of Your existence as Savior, to be hung on the infamous cross.  I am disconcerted and moved that You say it will be precisely then that Your name and Your essence will be revealed.  Only in You are being and existence one thing only with Love, the mystery of the fathomless, most precious, and splendid gift of the universe.

 The Voice of St. Clare of Assisi

If a Lord of such quality and so great, coming into a virginal womb, wanted to be despised in the world so that humans would be enriched in Him through possession of the Kingdom of Heaven, let us exult and rejoice greatly.  We have preferred rather than every honor of the world, to be despised; to riches, poverty; to accumulating things on earth, treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust can consume and where thieves cannot enter.

Leave a Reply

Categories

