Posted by: livingscripture | March 21, 2015

Fourth Saturday of Lent

From the Word of the Day

“So a division occurred in the crowd because of him.”   

 (John 7: 43)   

 How should we live this WordJesus_144_small

The schism among the people of Israel came about in identifying Jesus as the Messiah!  Is Jesus still today the cause of contradiction, of dissent, of incomprehension? Or has our society anesthetized us because others must be the ‘messiah’ and this question is no longer asked?  Instead, among our persecuted sisters and brothers, Jesus remains the fire that enlightens them to follow Him, the Messiah, and to give their life for Him.

Jesus still asks us today, ‘Who am I for you?’

In my pause for silent contemplation, I will ponder this question in the depths of my heart and ask Jesus to strengthen my faith in Him.

Lord, increase my faith and my love.  Jesus, Son of God, have mercy on me!

 The Voice of St. Teresa of Avila, Mystic and Doctor of the Church

Those who have Christ Jesus as their friend and follow such a magnanimous captain can certainly bear all things.  In fact, Jesus helps and strengthens them and His love never diminishes.  I have always recognized and still clearly see that we cannot please God and receive great graces from Him without the hands of the most sacred humanity of Christ, in which He has told us to rejoice.  I have had this experience many times and the Lord Himself told me.  I have clearly seen that we must go through this door if we want His sovereign Majesty to show us His great secrets.  It is from Him, our Lord, that all good comes.  He teaches us.  Meditating on His life, we see we will never find a more perfect Model.  What more can we desire when we have at our side such a good friend who will never abandon us in tribulations and in misfortune, as do friends of the earth.

Leave a Reply

Categories

