Posted by: livingscripture | March 18, 2015

Fourth Wednesday of Lent

From the Word of the Day

“Jesus answered the Jews, ‘My Father is at work until now, so I am at work.’ For this reason they tried all the more to kill him, because he not only broke the Sabbath but he also called God his own father, making himself equal to God.”   

 (John 5: 17-18)   

 

How should we live this WordJesus speaking

The Sabbath and calling Himself the Son of God – these are the reasons the Jews want to kill Jesus!  He ‘broke the Sabbath’ that, thanks to Him, returned to being made for man.  He called God Father, making Himself equal to Him.

To make self equal to God is the sin of Adam and this is why they accuse Jesus!  However, Adam’s sin was not that of making himself equal to God, but of stealing that which can only be a gift.  He wanted to possess as his own what came from the Father; he did not accept to be a son.  Instead, Jesus is the Son; the first man who accepts to be such, loved by the Father and obedient to Him!

In my pause for silent contemplation, I will acknowledge that I am God’s child and that I receive all that is good from Him.

 The Voice of Charles de Foucauld

My Father, I abandon myself to You. Do with me whatever You will.  Whatever You do, I thank You.  I am ready for all and I accept all so that Your will be done in me and in every creature.  I desire nothing else my God.  I entrust my soul to Your hands and I give it to You will all my heart  because I love You and it is a desire of my love to give myself to You, to abandon myself to You without measure, with infinite trust, because You are my Father.

Leave a Reply

Categories

