Posted by: livingscripture | March 16, 2015

Fourth Monday of Lent

From the Word of the Day 

“Then he returned to Cana in Galilee, where he had made the water wine.  Now there was a royal official whose son was ill in Capernaum.  When he heard that Jesus had arrived in Galilee from Judea, he went to him and asked him to come down and heal his son, who was near death.  Jesus said to him, ‘Unless you people see signs and wonders, you will not believe.’

The royal official said to him, ‘Sir, come down before my child dies.’ Jesus said to him, ‘You may go; your son will live’.  The man believed what Jesus said to him and left.”   

 (John 4: 46-50)   

 

How should we live this Wordlight

To believe in the Word is to live!  That man believed in the Word and his son was healed.  Believe without giving in to the temptation of vain reasoning, to the need for certainties, to the need for assurances, without asking for signs: believe, trust!  This is enough!

In my pause for silent contemplation, I will ask Jesus to give me complete trust in Him and His Word.

Lord, free me from the temptation to ask for signs in order to believe.  Grant me humble trust to believe that You are the greatest Sign, You and Your Word!

The Voice of Cardinal Newman

Lord, increase my faith.  Help me to believe in You when darkness seems to prevail.  Help me to trust Your Word and teach me to let myself be docilely guided by You who are Love without end.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

