Posted by: livingscripture | March 12, 2015

Third Thursday of Lent

 

From the Word of the Day 

“When a strong man fully armed guards his palace, his possessions are safe.  But when someone stronger than he attacks and overcomes him, he takes away the armor on which he relied and distributes the spoils.   Whoever is not with me is against me, and whoever does not gather with me scatters.”   

 (Luke 11: 21-23)   

 

How should we live this WordimagesCAG6E0XG

The simile used by Jesus in today’s Gospel greatly helps us in the journey of interior conversion and discernment we are living with the whole Church in this time of Lent.  The well-armed man who guards the door of his home represents the devil who is certain that he has conquered humanity and definitively overcome it.  “But when someone stronger than he attacks and overcomes him, he takes away the armor on which he relied and distributes the spoils”.  The stronger one is Jesus Himself who conquers the devil and takes away his armor.  Jesus is the Victor and only He can say, “Whoever is not with me is against me, and whoever does not gather with me scatters”.

Let us listen to the voice of Jesus and put all our security and certainty of victory in Him.  Without Him, all is vain and can be taken from us at any moment.  How comforting and consoling it is to know during this time of Lenten conversion when we may meet difficulties, tiredness, and discouragement, that Jesus is stronger than the demon, than any temptation, than any trial and difficulty. The simile used by Jesus in today’s Gospel greatly helps us in the journey of interior conversion and discernment we are living with the whole Church in this time of Lent.  The well-armed man who guards the door of his home represents the devil who is certain that he has conquered humanity and definitively overcome it.  “But when someone stronger than he attacks and overcomes him, he takes away the armor on which he relied and distributes the spoils”.  The stronger one is Jesus Himself who conquers the devil and takes away his armor.  Jesus is the Victor and only He can say, “Whoever is not with me is against me, and whoever does not gather with me scatters”.

In my pause for silent contemplation, I will ‘gather with Jesus’, knowing that I am on the winning side with Him always.

Jesus, You are stronger.  It entrust myself entirely to You, to Your great power.

The Voice of the Apocalypse 

The victor will sit with Me on My throne, as I too have won and sit with My Father on His throne.

________________________________________________________________________

 

________________________________________________________________________

Leave a Reply

Categories

