Posted by: livingscripture | March 7, 2015

Second Saturday of Lent

From the Word of the Day 

“Son, you are here with me always; everything I have is yours.  But now we must celebrate and rejoice, because your brother was dead and has come to life again; he was lost and has been found”.   

 (Luke 15: 32)   

 How should we live this WordProdigal son

The father’s reaction is disarming.  There is a lived communion, a shared love that does not lead to judgment but to celebration for the one who had rejected that communion and now has returned.  His return is a resurrection and must be viewed and lived as such.  The resurrection is a celebration of life; a feast that does not die!During this week, the various readings have led us to reflect on fraternity and how sometimes the most severe judges are family members among themselves.  Whether related by faith or related by blood, at a certain point it is easy to let jealousy prevail, perhaps disguised as a strange sense of justice, as in this case.  The older brother in the parable of the merciful father boasts of his perfection compared to the dissipation of his brother.  He has never run away from home, nor wasted the patrimonial goods.  Rather, he has done everything to care for them and increase them.  Now he must accept the re-admission of his degenerate brother.

In my pause for silent contemplation, I will ponder my reactions in the face of a repentant sinner who returns to life in God.  Is my heart filled with rejection or acceptance and joy?

Lord, grant that my Christianity, my faith do not lead me to be a sad judge of my brothers and sisters.  At each return, each conversion let me rejoice.  Help me to be welcoming.  Tomorrow, I may be the one needing this acceptance and non-judgmental attitude.

The Voice of Pope Francis

 In the measure in which He is able to reign among us, social life will be the place of fraternity, of peace, of dignity for everyone.

Leave a Reply

Categories

