Posted by: livingscripture | February 28, 2015

First Saturday of Lent

From the Word of the Day 

“Be perfect, just as your heavenly Father is perfect.”   

 (Matthew 5: 48)   

 How should we live this WordSacred heart

To love those who love us, is relatively easy.  We could say it is natural.  But to love those who hate us, those who are unpleasant and annoy us, is very difficult.  Yet, we who have been the object of God’s love and have been loved by Him first, can be capable of loving everyone.  We must pray to enter into God’s universal vision of love.Today’s Gospel asks us to imitate the perfection of love and mercy of our heavenly Father, who is ready to receive everyone and rejoices when His children follow His example.  Love everyone, even those who slander us, who cheat us, who raise barriers, and resent us.  Christian life is measured by the intensity with which we know how to forgive and shower our charity and understanding on all, especially those we consider ‘enemies’.

In my pause for silent contemplation, I will ask Jesus to give me His heart to love others with.

Lord, help me to overcome hostility and rancor and carry in my heart even those who weigh on me.

The Voice of Dr. Wayne W. Dyer, Psychologist and Author 

Love is my gift to the world.  I fill myself with love and send this love into the world.  How others treat me is their journey…how I react is mine.

Leave a Reply

Categories

