Posted by: livingscripture | February 23, 2015

First Monday of Lent

From the Word of the Day 

“Whatever you did for one of these least brothers of mine, you did for me.”   

 (Mark 25: 40)   

How should we live this WordimagesCAG6E0XG

We must view others with the eyes of the heart, seeing in them people who need our help, our smile, our understanding.  Guided by faith, we will see God’s image in them.  We will hear the often silent call to live life with dignity.  We will hear the urgency of not being indifferent to their need.Today’s Gospel is very explicit about what will happen to us at the judgment at the end of our life.  We will be judged on the charity that we have shown toward other persons.  Jesus gave us the example, identifying Himself with the poorest and the marginalized.

Today in my pause for silent contemplation,  I will courageously look at my willingness to help those in need, be they near or far, and I will ask Jesus to open my heart to greater mercy and love.

Help me Lord to be sensitive to the sufferings and miseries of others, especially those closest to me. 

The Voice of St. Gregory of Nazianzen, Father of the Church 

Do you think that charity is perhaps not obligatory but only an option?  That it is not a law but only a mere counsel?   I too would like that and I would willingly think that.  But God’s left side frightens me, the side where He has gathered the goats to reprove them, not because they have stolen, looted, committed adultery or other crimes, but because they had not honored Christ in the person of the poor.  Believe me if you want, you followers of Christ, His brothers and co-heirs.  Now while it is not too late, let us visit Christ, serve Christ, feed Christ, clothe Christ, receive Christ, and honor Christ.

________________________________________________________________________________

Leave a Reply

Categories

