Posted by: livingscripture | February 22, 2015

First Sunday of Lent

From the Word of the Day 

“Repent, and believe in the Gospel.”   

 (Mark 1: 15)   

How should we live this Wordtemptation 2

Let us be aware of the need of conversion and of believing in the Gospel.  In the desert and in the silence of our heart we will discover the ‘savage beasts’ present within ourselves, symbols of our defects, of our egoism, of our dark side.Lent invites us to reflect upon the person and teaching of Jesus, who took on our human condition.  He was not saved from the experience of temptation; He taught us to put our trust in God in time of trial.

At the same time, the angels who serve Jesus are also present.  We too, helped by our guardian angel, can face struggle and renouncement.  We can face our vices and thus out of darkness, we will arrive to the light.

Today in my pause for silent contemplation, I will ask Jesus to take me by the hand and together face the darkness within me so that He may lead me into His Light.

Lord, often temptations help me to discover the deep reality of my person.  Help me to be aware of them so as to eliminate the ambiguities in my life. 

The Voice of Fr. Marco Pedron, Homily for the First Sunday of Lent 

There is nothing and no one in the desert.  Then the great questions arise, “What do I want from my life?  What am I ready to risk?  When?  At what level do I want to live?  What fears stop me?  What lies do I tell myself?  Do I listen to the voices within me?”  We can flee from everything except from ourselves.

________________________________________________________________________________

Leave a Reply

Categories

