Posted by: livingscripture | January 12, 2015

Monday of Week One in Ordinary Time

From the Word of the Day

 “This is the time of fulfillment.  The Kingdom of God is at hand.  Repent, and believe in the Gospel.”

(Mark 1: 15)

 How should we live this Wordrisen Jesus 1

Precisely because the Kingdom of God is at hand, that is, erupting in the passion of God for human beings to the point of sending His Son to give Himself for our salvation, we must believe in the Gospel.  What does this invitation mean for my life today?  Believing in the Gospel means allowing a huge smile of hope to emerge from my depths.  The Gospel is the Good News that there is a God who thinks of me, a God who has at heart my entry into His Kingdom.  His Kingdom is in fact the spread of Love, the invitation to let myself be saved by the power bursting forth of Jesus, God with us.  He is the one who not only ‘passed by, blessing everyone’ but also the One who continues to be with us, with me.With his preaching and austere testimony of life, John was like one who passes and waters the hard earth awaiting the seed.  Jesus instead, is the sower, the One who entrusts it with the seed from which life that is the Kingdom of God, salvation bursts forth.  The seed is the response to the deepest longings of the human heart.  John the Baptist had insisted on the urgency of conversion.  His was a Baptism of penitence.  Jesus takes up this absolute need for conversion of heart and life and adds an element of great positivity: “Believe in the Gospel”.

Jesus tells us, “Courage, do not be afraid, I AM” (Mark 6: 50).  Even in times of greatest difficulty, the challenge to every fear is this word that He pronounces over the tempestuous sea.  ‘I Am’ is the name of God Himself.  His omnipotence conquers the powers of evil, if I believe; if I entrust myself to His ‘being’ which is salvation.

Today in my pause for silent contemplation, I will ponder the Kingdom of God in these terms, allowing my heart to be pervaded by God’s love and tenderness.

Lord Jesus, Face of the Father’s Love and of His active power among those who believe, increase my faith in Your Gospel.  Let my life be the happy proclamation of salvation! 

The Voice of Phileteo of Sinai, Church Father 

Guard your mind with wise attention.  As soon as you perceive a harmful thought, block its advance without losing time.  Invoke Christ our Lord to help you overcome it.  The moment you invoke Him, Jesus will sweetly tell you, “Here I am, close to you to help you.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

