Posted by: livingscripture | January 7, 2015

Wednesday after Epiphany

From the Word of the Day

“Take courage, it is I, do not be afraid!”

(Mark 6: 50)

How should we live this Wordwalks on water

Jesus had invited His disciples to get into the boat and proceed to the other shore, at Bethsaida.  As night came on, a strong wind began to blow.  They rowed against the agitated waters, oppressed by fatigue and anxiety.  Jesus approached them, walking on the water.  They thought it was a ghost and they began to cry out.  Jesus’ words brought peace and calm, “Take courage, it is I, do not be afraid!”  Jesus gets into the boat with them.  The wind dies down.  Calm returns.

This scene is emblematic of many of our days.  We will be happy if we are able to open our ears of faith to listen to these words so capable of encouraging us, dissolving the fear that seeks to insinuate itself in various circumstances and at various levels.

“It is I” Jesus says.  He is saying this to me today.  I have created you.  I save you.  It is I who want your good, always, even when in the tempestuous seas of life, it seems that you are in grave danger.  Why let yourself slip into fear?  Being a Christian does not mean being insensitive to the emotions, but rather to live them in the Presence of the One who will never allow us to be overcome and drowned.

Today in my pause for silent contemplation, I will ponder Jesus’ words, letting them sink deeply into my heart.

 Yes, Jesus, God of Love, You are here to tell me ‘I Am’.  I will not be overcome by any tempest.  Even in the hard moments of life, my heart opens to Your words, “Take courage…do not be afraid!”  All will be well, notwithstanding the trials. 

The Voice of Bertrand Russell, Philosopher 

To fear love is to fear life and those who fear life are already three quarters dead.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

