Posted by: livingscripture | December 21, 2014

FOURTH SUNDAY of ADVENT

From the Word of the Day

“But that night the Lord spoke to Nathan and said, ‘Go, tell my servant David, ‘thus says the Lord: Should you build me a house to live in?’…The Lord also reveals to you that he will establish a house for you.”

(2 Samuel 7: 4-11)

 How should we live this Word  122507_lead_today[1]

Nathan’s prophecy to David is very touching.  This prophecy on the stability of David’s house helps us to understand that God does not accept that humans build Him a house, a temple, as though the Omnipotent had need of a place built by human hands in which to live.  Rather, God wants to guarantee to David a stable dynasty founded on His Covenant, more than on a cultural institution like a temple.  David’s intention was surely upright and came from his generous heart.  In fact, he had acknowledged that he lived in a beautiful house of cedar while the Ark of God “was under a tent”.

However, the prophet Nathan was sent to tell him that God Himself would provide him with a house and a kingdom.  It is clear the prophet was thinking of David’ son, Solomon, who would succeed him in the Davidic kingdom. He would make it even more glorious and great.  Yet, it is also clear the prophecy has a greater value and meaning transcending the facts of history because behind the figure of Solomon there loomed on the horizon that of the Messiah.  Thus we have the mysterious prophetic words, “The Lord also reveals to you that he will establish a house for you”.

I too can make this prophecy-promise my own because in Jesus born on Christmas, I too am invited to rediscover my Covenant rapport with the Father who loves me and will make for me as well, a house where I will live forever.

Today as I pause for silent contemplation, and prepare a home for Baby Jesus in the crèche of the Christmas crib, I will not forget that my heart, above all, is the place where He comes to dwell, where He wants His home to be. 

The Lord will make a home for me! 

The voice of Jesus 

Zaccheus, come down immediately because today I will come to your home.

  (Cf. Luke 19: 5)

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

