Posted by: livingscripture | December 8, 2014

SOLEMNITY of the IMMACULATE CONCEPTION

From the Word of the Day

“I will put enmity between you and the woman, and between your offspring and hers; he will strike at your head, while you strike at his heel.”

 (Genesis 3: 14) 

How should we live this WordChristmas

This great feast reminds us each year that the Gospel, the Good News did not only begin two thousand years ago but has its roots in the night time.  From always, God has manifested Himself as the creator who leaves His creatures totally free to choose the good.  To create and give total autonomy is a risk, but one that must be taken if we want to see come forth the beauty, intelligence, will of the creature itself.

If in the mythic account of Creation, Eve, the woman, makes the negative choice in this autonomy, in God’s vision the woman is still entrusted with the possibility of generating a positive resolution and recuperating a choice that allows her to turn to God, to see and recognize herself in His face.  This is the Immaculate Virgin, a woman who destroyed the impossibility of seeing God, began to contemplate His face and to recognize herself in Him, to the point of generating and restoring Him to the world.  In Mary, generating truly became giving flesh to the Son of God.  In us, this generation is spiritual.  The contemplation of God’s face allows Him to rejoice in us and to recognize us as His own.  He infuses us with the certainty that He is our Creator, Savior, and Consoler.

Today as I pause for silent contemplation, I will spend time with our Blessed Mother, asking her to help me recognize her Son in my daily life and to generate Him through my choices for the good.

Lord, help me to be conscious that love renders me pure and holy.  Drive away all fear from my heart.

The voice of Isaiah 61 

I exult and rejoice in the Lord,

My soul rejoices in my God,

Because He has robed me with salvation,

He has enveloped me with the mantle of justice,

Like a bride adorned with her jewels.

Leave a Reply

Categories

