Posted by: livingscripture | November 26, 2014

Last Wednesday in Ordinary Time

From the Word of the Day

“Not a hair on your head will be destroyed.  By your perseverance you will secure your lives.”

 (Luke 21:18-19)

How should we live this Wordjesus14

The scene of the last times described by St. Luke is not a rosy one.  There will be persecutions, attacks, and abuse for those who persevere in giving witness to Christ Jesus, the true God.  Life will definitely not spare those who have decided to live the Gospel at any cost.  The persecutors will use their worst strategies to steal the faith from the heart of Christians.  However, every attempt will be in vain.  The Lord tells us that ‘not a hair on your head will be destroyed’.  Then He adds the important words that the desire to persevere in living with Jesus, according to His Gospel, will secure our lives, our salvation.

How radiant is Your Word that dissipates all my fear!  Living as a Christian does not imply complications but rather opens the heart to serene trust.  If I hand over to Jesus my entire self and all that I do, then there is no reason for an anxious life spent in fear.  Even what is most fragile, like a hair of my head, is a plan of divine salvation.

Today as I pause for silent contemplation, I will ask Jesus to help me persevere in loving and serving Him each day, no matter how difficult it is.

Lord, increase my faith in Your Word and I will be saved.

The voice of Massimo Gramellini, Journalist

In truth, my life is the story of attempts I have made to keep my feet on the ground without stopping to raise my eyes to Heaven.

Leave a Reply

Categories

