Posted by: livingscripture | November 23, 2014

SOLEMNITY of OUR LORD JESUS CHRIST the KING

From the Word of the Day

“The king will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father.  Inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world.  For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, a stranger and you welcomed me, naked and you clothed me, ill and you cared for me, in prison and you visited me’.”

 (Matthew 25: 34-36)       

 How should we live this WordJesus King

We are almost at the end of Matthew’s Gospel.  It is a solemn scene as Jesus describes what will happen at the end of time using a parable.  A great King gathers all the inhabitants of the earth, of all times and nations.  It is the climax, the last judgment in which every person will receive the definitive good or evil forever, according to how they lived their life.  There will be no postponements or excuses.

One fact is most striking.  The King speaks of good or evil that has been done, not to this or that person, but to Him, to the King Himself.  “You did it for me…”

Obviously in this way the reality of good or evil done holds great weight.  From here flows the enormous weight of glory and happiness for the good performed, even to the poorest person that exists, and the weight of malediction for the evil done to anyone.

How strong and impressive are the Lord’s words, “You did it for me”.  Yes, He puts His very person into play!

Today as I pause for silent contemplation, I will ponder these words of Jesus and how He identifies with us.  Whatever good I do, I do for Him and whatever evil I do, I do to Him.  What an awesome responsibility!

Jesus, I beg You, open my mind and heart to the good so that I may see everyone with the eyes of faith and treat them as I want to treat You, for You are in them as You are in me.  Fill my heart with love for everyone and make me ready to help any brother or sister in need. 

The voice of Mother Teresa of Calcutta

Love does not live on words nor can it be explained in words.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

