Posted by: livingscripture | November 22, 2014

Thirty-third Saturday in Ordinary Time

From the Word of the Day

“They can no longer die, for they are like angels; and they are the children of God because they are the ones who will rise.”

 (Luke 20: 36)    

How should we live this Word Jesus risen 3

I would bet that this strong, clear assertion of the Lord Jesus has never been read by those who follow certain lines of nihilism, as those of Nietzsche, Freud, and Marx.

Instead, we have the well-grounded certainty, consolation, and strength to live believing this very simple and bright future as God’s children.  We are fully acknowledged as children in the Only Son Jesus.  We are thus children of the Resurrection!

A child participates in its Father’s nature.  The New Testament explains many times that through this we are participants in the divine nature.  Because of the Grace that Jesus, the Incarnate Word of God, acquired for us, brings this without any kind of restrictions.    I can repeat to myself, ‘I am a child of God in all the truth and clarity of the Gospel.  I am a child of the Resurrection.  Everything I live day by day is passing.  But life, my deep essence as an incarnated spirit, will never be destroyed by ‘sister bodily death’ (St. Francis of Assisi).

This body of mine, with its unique individuality God wanted in His wondrous loving me first, will rise again!

Today as I pause for silent contemplation, I will dwell on the stupendous fact that I am God’s child and a child of the Resurrection.  This is the source of my joy as a Christian!  How can I ever be sad? 

Grant me the joy of being saved.  Sustain in me a generous heart!  (Psalm 50)

The voice of Benedict XVI – General Audience of November 21, 2012

Faith is expressed in the gift of self to others, in the fraternity that makes us one, able to love, and to overcome the solitude that saddens us.  This knowledge of God through faith in not only intellectual, but is vital.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

