Posted by: livingscripture | November 18, 2014

Thirty-third Tuesday in Ordinary Time

From the Word of the Day

“He who walks blamelessly and does justice; who thinks the truth in his heart and slanders not with his tongue…shall never be disturbed”

 (Psalm 14)          

How should we live this Word image037-praise

This Psalm aptly describes the just person.  It gathers the characteristic traits that are basic and recognizable in any reality and time.  The just person’s lineaments do not change.  The person we want to be, with God’s help, is attentive but without anxiety, to any temptation to sin.  Such people are honest and upright in all their dealings that are resplendent with justice.  Justice could not be practiced unless the secret source of their speaking and acting was truth.  The text says, ‘who thinks the truth in his heart’.  This refers to what flows from within, from one’s depths.  That which is not rooted in our interior life is like the chaff blown by the wind.

We need to understand this well. People who have truth as their guiding value can never fall into the malicious and vulgar gossiping about others, to the point of slander and calumny.

Today as I pause for silent contemplation, I shall think about my words and actions.  Am I rooted in Jesus, in His truth?  Do I avoid speaking or listening to gossip about others? 

My Lord, these words of the Psalm urge me to be a person who is ready to extinguish the poison of gossip and slander.  Keep me far from speaking evil or listening to evil about others.  Help me to live in the truth, Your truth which dwells in my heart so that by practicing justice my life may be good and beautiful for Your glory and the good of my sisters and brothers.

The voice of Lev Tolstoy, Russian Author

A sacrifice done to satisfy the demands of honesty is the highest joy of the spirit.

Leave a Reply

Categories

