Posted by: livingscripture | November 2, 2014

Thirty-first Sunday – ALL SOULS DAY

From the Word of the Day

“Everything that the Father gives me will come to me, and I will not reject anyone who comes to me, because I came down from heaven not to do my own will but the will of the one who sent me.  And this is the will of the one who sent me that I should not lose anything of what he gave me, but that I should raise it on the last day.”

 (John 6: 37-39)  

How should we live this WordJesus_103_small

Today is Sunday and the commemoration of all our dear ones who have died.  It is a double occasion for thinking about the Resurrection and remembering the One who left us a Paschal connotation.  Perhaps because the Resurrection is celebrated in spring time and this commemoration takes place in autumn, it is difficult to color it with warm, bright tones.  What prevail are colors that are spent and mottled in the season that shows the signs of nature’s loss of vitality at least in northern climes where darkness and cold dominate.  The Liturgy has difficulty in expressing the joy of new life brought by the Resurrection.

Instead, John’s words are not tied to the seasons.  They do not allow us to attach ourselves to damp pessimism brought on by the falling leaves.  Jesus’ words, ‘I will not reject anyone who comes to Me,’ are very striking.  Jesus passes from the infinite to the finite, from divinity to humanity, from omnipotence to fragility to do God’s will of love.  The promise He made to the Father remains strong in this passage, ‘I should not lose anything of what He gave me!’

Our hope is founded on this power of Jesus, on His tenacity that leads Him to do everything to save us.  He will not go against our will but He will support us in our fragility.  In Him, death will only be a passage to a fuller life that we cannot imagine now.  It will be beautiful, abundant, and good.  It will be lived in communion with God who is love.

Today as I pause for silent contemplation, I will bask in the comforting light of Jesus’ words for me and for all my dear ones who have died.

Lord, the hardness and contradictions of this life sometimes cause us to ‘curse’ it.  Help us to love our life, to make space and time to seek You, to love You who change darkness into light.

The voice of Job

I know that my Redeemer lives

And He will triumph over the dust!

I myself will see Him,

My eyes will contemplate Him

And not another

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

