Posted by: livingscripture | October 31, 2014

Thirtieth Friday in Ordinary Time

From the Word of the Day

Jesus spoke to the scholars of the law and Pharisees in reply, asking, ‘is it lawful to cure on the Sabbath or not?’  But they kept silent; so he took the man, and after he had healed him, dismissed him.  Then he said to them, ‘Who among you, if your son or ox falls into a cistern, would not immediately pull him out on the Sabbath day?’.”

 (Luke 14: 3-5)   

How should we live this Word temple 2

Jesus does not want us to be insensitive and hard of heart, nor incapable of discernment and understanding in helping others by appealing to laws that impede the true good of the person in the name of an exasperated and rigid legalism.  He shows us that for God every moment is the right moment to heal others from physical and moral maladies.  He brings us back to the true meaning of the Law which always must give dignity and life to human beings.

In our own times, the human situation deeply questions us for a courageous and innovative response.  What can I do in this particular moment for this human being, this brother or sister, whom I meet on my way?  How can I concretely and immediately provide the help needed?  The Word of God and the Spirit’s voice help me to be an instrument of charity and keep me from indifference and self-righteousness.

Today as I pause for silent contemplation, I will examine my heart and ask Jesus to rid me of all rigidity that obscures compassion and mercy within me. 

Lord, illumine me with Your divine wisdom so that I can live with love, with my heart always open to the needs of my neighbor.

The voice of Benedict XVI at the Angelus of July 1, 2012 

Jesus who is so attentive to human suffering leads us to think also of all those who help the sick to carry their cross…They are ‘reserves of love’ who bring serenity and hope to the suffering.

Leave a Reply

Categories

