Posted by: livingscripture | October 28, 2014

Thirtieth Tuesday in Ordinary Time

From the Word of the Day

Jesus went up to the mountain to pray, and he spent the night in prayer to God.  When day came, he called his disciples to himself, and from them he chose Twelve.”

 (Luke 6: 12-13) 

How should we live this Wordcommunity

By remembering the Apostles, we return to the roots of our faith.  Just as he called the Apostles in their concrete situation, with a well defined life and face, unrepeatable in its uniqueness, so too does Jesus call each of us, giving us a vocation and a mission to accomplish.  Within our diversity, we all feel united in His name and in his love.

With an act of goodness and trust, he pronounces my name and He calls me to spread His message on the earth.  He loves me as I am, with all my limitations and even my contradictions.  He makes me perceive nostalgia for His goodness and His esteem, entrusting to me the task of being His living presence in the world today.

Today as I pause for silent contemplation, I will thank Jesus for trusting me with His Word and ask Him to help me spread it far and wide.

Oh God, help me to discover my vocation day by day.  Infuse Your hope and strength in me so that I may respond to You with courage and perseverance. 

The voice of Benedict XVI, Catechesis on Sts. Simon & Jude, October-2006

Jesus calls His disciples and collaborators from the most varied social and religious strata, without any preconceptions.  He is interested in people, not in social categories or labels.  It is beautiful that the group of His followers, although they are very different, join together and find themselves united.  This is clearly a lesson for us who are so often inclined to emphasize differences and contrasts, forgetting that in Jesus Christ we are given the strength to resolve our differences…Thus both Simon and Jude Thaddeus help us to discover more and more and live untiringly the beauty of the Christian faith, learning from it how to give strong and serene witness.

Leave a Reply

Categories

