Posted by: livingscripture | October 23, 2014

Twenty-ninth Thursday in Ordinary Time

From the Word of the Day

I kneel before the Father, from whom every family in Heaven and on earth is named, that he may grant you in accord with the riches of his glory to be strengthened with power through his Spirit in the inner self, and that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith; that you, rooted and grounded in love, may have strength to comprehend with all the holy ones what is the breadth and length and height and depth, and to know the love of Christ that surpasses knowledge, so that you may be filled with all the fullness of God.”

 (Ephesians 3: 14-19)       

How should we live this Word

Paul is enraptured with the breadth and depth of God’s mystery that is revealed in Christ.  “To be filled with all the fullness of God” is therefore the profound meaning of our Christian vocation.  It opens us to an infinite horizon that can already be present to some measure during this life.  However, it deals with the contemplative dimension of our belief.  Paul prays, “That Christ may dwell in our hearts through faith”.  There are some people who are always depressed although they say they believe and live some religious practices.  They drag along, alone and anxious, with a load of things to do on the ethical, spiritual, and practical levels.  They project a suffocated and sad image of Christianity.  They lack the radiance of love.  They lack the contemplative horizon.  They lack the joy of being ‘inhabited’ and ‘strengthened interiorly’ by Christ. creator-150x150[1]

Today as I pause for silent contemplation, I will do an exercise of real descent into the depths of my heart where through faith, I will contact Jesus who is in me.  I will ask Him to ‘root and ground me in love’ in my daily life.  With Jesus, I will sow loving attitudes and actions.  I will be able to open myself interiorly to the ‘breadth and length and height, and depth of Christ’s love’ that goes beyond every merely rational cognitive capacity.  If I remain, believe, and persevere with confidence in God’s grace, I will be filled with God’s fullness day after day.  What more could I desire in this life and the next? 

As I walk, I will pray: Jesus Christ, Lord!

The voice of Pope Saint John Paul II

To humanity that often seems lost and dominated by the power of evil, of egoism, and of fear, the Risen Lord offers the gift of His Love that forgives, reconciles, and opens the soul to hope.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

