Posted by: livingscripture | October 14, 2014

Twenty-eighth Tuesday in Ordinary Time

From the Word of the Day

For in Christ Jesus, neither circumcision nor uncircumcision counts for anything, but only faith working through love.”

 (Galatians 5, 6) 

How should we live this Word community

The great secret of the true Christian is living in Christ.  This means not losing ourselves in past supports that were perhaps helpful, but rather decisively choosing a life of faith.  At the time of St. Paul, there were many people who had been converted from Judaism and still considered the practice of circumcision important.  This rite inserted the baby boy into the religious world of Israel.

Today, something like this may occur.  We may over value little devotional practices instead of deepening the practice of true faith.  It is precisely when ‘faith works through love’, that it is authentic.  Instead, when faith is merely wordy dissertations or a practice infiltrated by superstitious attitudes, then we must change course and learn the Gospel and live it daily with God’s help.

Today as I pause for silent contemplation, I will review my faith life and ask Jesus to help me rid myself of all pietistic practices that impede a living faith in Him. 

Lord Jesus, give me a simple heart illumined by the Holy Spirit so that my faith may become the evident witness of my adherence to You with all my heart.  Grant me the courage of always being charitable toward everyone, beginning with those who live with me, under my roof. 

The voice of William of Saint-Thierry, Mystic Author of the 12th Century 

Illumined by grace, love vivifies reason and the practice of life.  It is reason that clarifies the practice of a lived love.

Leave a Reply

Categories

