Posted by: livingscripture | May 2, 2013

Fifth Thursday of Easter

From the Word of the Day

“If you keep my commandments, you will remain in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commandments and remain in his love.”  (John 15: 10)

            

How should we live this Word?lwjas0152

The word ‘remain’ continues to be repeated.  Yesterday, the accent was on love: Remain in my love.  Today, Jesus explains concretely what this means in everyday life.  To remain in His love means to observe God’s law, which we know to be the right and secure track for living a life style that is not made up of empty words but of real love, of the gift of ourselves.

Immediately after this, Jesus tells us another thing that is very important.  He tells us that His teachings have the aim of making us live in joy, the joy that an author defined as ‘the gigantic secret of Christians’.

Today in my pause for silent contemplation, I will ask for the grace to cling to Jesus at each moment, remaining in Him and thus remaining in joy.

Lord Jesus, I am fragile and often live more outside myself than inside.  Make me capable of remaining in You, attentively listening to Your Word that makes me experience the secret source of true joy that comes from You.

The Voice of Eckhart Tolle 

 Glance within yourself.  See if you practice the good to be seen and admired by others or because you are convinced that it is for our true good, for the joy of your heart and that of others.

Leave a Reply

Categories

